2018 Idaho Innovation Awards Program Winners

The Idaho Innovation Awards program is proud to announce the winners of the 13th annual awards program designed to recognize the innovations and entrepreneurs that are helping to drive Idaho’s economy. The program is organized by Stoel Rives LLPTrailhead and the Idaho Technology Council (ITC).

As the state’s premier business innovation awards program, the Idaho Innovation Awards recognize groundbreaking accomplishments in five categories. Five winners and 10 finalists were recognized at the awards ceremony, a segment of the ITC’s ninth annual Hall of Fame celebration, held at Boise Centre.

The 2018 winners are:

Commercialized Innovation of the Year: 

MultiGrip Workholding by VersaBuilt Robotics – quick change vise jaw system


Consumer Product of the Year: 

Ammon Fiber Optics by City of Ammon – City-owned and operated fiber optic infrastructure

Early-Stage Innovation of the Year: 

Continuous Fiber 3D Printing (CF3D™) by Continuous Composites – 3D printing continuous fibers that embeds functionality with fiber optics and copper wires creating a part that can sense and react to environmental stimuli


Innovative Company of the Year: 

Sloan Security Group, Inc. – design, installation and maintenance for perimeter security


Innovator of the Year: 

Tracy Lotz, Founder and CEO, LiveRez – a pioneer in a number of advancements in the vacation rental space, from online advertising to online bookings to cloud-based management software.

Nominations were evaluated by a selection committee consisting of leaders from Idaho’s business, technology and academic communities; their votes were tallied by accountants from Deloitte. In addition to announcing the winners, Stoel Rives partner and awards program chair Brian Larsen and Stoel Rives associate Nick Taylor honored the following finalists:

Commercialized Innovation of the Year

Retrolux by Retrolux, Inc.

Submersible & Direct Burial Splice Connector by Melni Connectors

Consumer Product of the Year

Expandals by GroFive

Kodiak by Inergy

Early-Stage Innovation of the Year

Additive Manufacturing Evaporative Casting (AMEC) by Skuld LLC

LoTempLene by Idaho National Laboratory

Innovative Company of the Year

Intermountain 3D Inc. and Brownfield’s Prosthetics and Orthotics

Wilkinson Baking

Innovator of the Year

Ryan DeLuca, Co-Founder and CEO, Black Box VR

Dr. Hussein Moradi, Chief Wireless Technical Director in National & Homeland Security, Idaho National Laboratory 

Held annually since 2010, the Idaho Technology Council Hall of Fame recognizes innovative leaders who have made a significant contribution to the state’s technology community. Joe Albertson, founder of Albertsons Inc., and Bob Miller, former CEO and Chairman of the Board of Albertsons Companies, were this year’s inductees. The event also featured Steve Young, former 49ers Hall of Fame quarterback and managing partner and co-founder of Huntsman Gay Global Capital, as the keynote speaker.

Need more details? Contact us

If you have questions or are interested in receiving information about sponsorship opportunities for the Idaho Innovation Awards program, please contact us.


Mari Zanot |  Program Coordinator​

  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle